Shiseido WTA Finals, Shenzhen

WTA Final
The first tournament was held in 1972, 49 years ago, as an event at the end of a series of tournaments sponsored by Virginia Slims, called the Virginia Slims Circuit. The WTA Finals is the most prestigious event of a season after the four Grand Slam tournaments. Now tournament is the competition of the top 8 elite tennis female players of the world. In 2020, the 50th edition of the singles event and the 45th edition of the doubles competition were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Venue: Shenzhen Bay Sports Center
Surface: Hard

tournament categories

1972 - 2021
WTA Finals

tournament names in previous years

1972 - 1973
Virginia Slims Championships, Boca Raton
1974 - 1976
Virginia Slims Championships, Los Angeles
Virginia Slims Championships, New York
Virginia Slims Championships, Oakland
1979 - 1982
Avon Championships, New York
1983 - 1994
Virginia Slims Championships, New York
WTA Tour Championships, New York
1996 - 2000
Chase Championships, New York
Sanex Championships, Munich
Home Depot Championships, Los Angeles
2003 - 2005
Tour Championships by Porsche, Los Angeles
2006 - 2007
Sony Ericsson Championships, Madrid
2008 - 2009
Sony Ericsson Championships, Doha
WTA Championships, Doha
2011 - 2013
TEB BNP Paribas WTA Championships, Istanbul
BNP Paribas WTA Finals, Singapour
2015 - 2018
BNP Paribas WTA Finals by SC Global, Singapour
2019 - 2021
Shiseido WTA Finals, Shenzhen

Shiseido WTA Finals, Shenzhen - Current Champions

Women's Singles
Women's Doubles

WTA Final - Past Champions