Miami Open presented by Itau

The first tournament was held in 1985, 38 years ago, at Laver's International Tennis Resort at Delray Beach, Florida, after Earl BUCHHOLZ, founder and owner of the tournament, got confirmed from ATP and WTA for the unified tournament for both the men and the women. The women’s final between Martina NAVRATILOVA and Chris EVERT was a sellout, and the first champion became Navratilova. In 1994 after legal delays and Hurricane Andrew, the new stadium at Crandon Park was built, and since then, all competitions have been held in Miami. In 2020, the event was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Venue: Hard Rock Stadium
Surface: Hard

Dates: Mar 21, 2023 - Apr 02, 2023

tournament categories

1973 - 1987
WTA Circuit in past
1988 - 2008
WTA Tier I
2009 - 2020
WTA Premier Mandatory
2021 - 2023
WTA 1000

tournament names in previous years

Lipton International Championships, Delray Beach
Lipton International Championships, Boca Raton
1987 - 1992
Lipton International Championships, Miami
1993 - 1999
The Lipton Championships, Miami
2000 - 2001
Ericsson Open, Miami
2002 - 2006
NASDAQ-100 Open, Miami
2007 - 2012
Sony Ericsson Open, Miami
2013 - 2014
Sony Open Tennis, Miami
2015 - 2023
Miami Open presented by Itau

Miami Open presented by Itau - Current Champions

Women's Singles
Women's Doubles

Players who won Women's singles and doubles titles at the same WTA Miami